Walking With C.S. Lewis

Walking With C.S. Lewis

10 Episodes

In this 10-segment video series filmed on-location in beautiful Oxford, England, individuals and small groups alike will walk through the life, writings, and impact of beloved author C. S. Lewis.

Subscribe Share
Walking With C.S. Lewis
  • Mere Christianity

    Episode 1

    TV-G. Professor Ash describes Lewis's own journey from atheism to faith, which gave Lewis the personal background to write about the essentials of Christian belief as outlined in his radio talks-turned-book, Mere Christianity.

  • Screwtape Letters

    Episode 2

    TV-G. Professor Ash guides readers how to read and interpret the main themes in The Screwtape Letters' imaginative take on hell, written from the perspective of demons fighting God's work in the world.

  • The Problem of Pain

    Episode 3

    TV-G. In discussing Lewis's first apologetic writing, Professor Ash outlines the book's discussion of love, kindness, and pain and the ways in which the three interact, giving readers hope that God is at work even in difficult times of life.

  • C.S. Lewis's Life

    Episode 4

    TV-G. Professor Ash highlights events and influences early in Lewis's life that would later shape his conversion to Christianity and his writings. This episode also discusses his later life as a Christian, a professor, and a public intellectual, and his late marriage to Joy Davidman.

  • The Great Divorce

    Episode 5

    TV-G. Professor Ash guides readers how to read and interpret The Great Divorce, with its imaginative take on the afterlife. He guides readers through the main characters Lewis encounters and the themes that they represent.

  • Narnia - Part 1

    Episode 6

    TV-G. Professor Ash details the background to the Narnia series and discusses in more detail the big three Narnia books that correspond to the key biblical stories of creation, Christ's death and resurrection, and the end times.

  • Narnia - Part 2

    Episode 7

    TV-G. Professor Ash provides an overview of the plot and main themes, along with devotional takeaways, for each of the remaining four Narnia books.

  • The Space Trilogy

    Episode 8

    TV-G. Professor Ash overviews the plots and main themes of each of the three books in the Space Trilogy Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength. He then details the biblical allusions in Perelandra more specifically.

  • A Grief Observed & The Weight of Glory

    Episode 9

    TV-G. Professor Ash walks with viewers through two other of Lewis's most well-loved works. For A Grief Observed, Professor Ash looks more closely at the book's treatment of pain, fear, the seeming absence of God, and God's goodness while grieving a loved one. For The Weight of Glory, Professor As...

  • Why I Like C.S. Lewis

    Episode 10

    TV-G. In the concluding episode, Professor Ash highlights aspects of Lewis's legacy and personal example that help readers, including Ash, develop a vigorous apologetic and personal faith based on solid theology, Christian unity, and prayer.