Breaking the Silence: My Amish Story

Breaking the Silence: My Amish Story

6 Episodes

Breaking the Silence presents a respectfully honest view of the origins and legacy of the Amish and how they became who they are today. Through personal stories of former Amish people and interviews with Church leaders and historians it provides both a broad and an intimate perspective. The film's director says, "This film is part of my personal journey into what my Amish heritage really means."

Subscribe Share
Breaking the Silence: My Amish Story
  • The Secret Strength of the Amish Church

    Episode 1

    TV-PG-L. A rare inside view of an Amish church service and the inner workings of the Amish culture.

  • Silencing the Grabers

    Episode 2

    TV-PG-L. Difficult choices await the Graber couple, whose family turns on them along with the Amish church.

  • An Amish Romance

    Episode 3

    TV-14. Three people that were leaving the Amish, Joe from Ohio, Sam from Indiana, and Polly from Missouri. Their stories started out in different times and places, but eventually their lives intertwined. Can Sam and Polly survive the efforts of their families to pull them back into the Amish?

  • The Birth of the Amish Church

    Episode 4

    TV-PG-DV. The Reformation Era was a turbulent time in Church history. Names like Wycliffe, Tyndale, and Luther are familiar to many people. But where did the Amish come from and how does their story fit into the Reformation Era?

  • Amish In Our Midst

    Episode 5

    TV-PG-L. Frequently asked questions about the Amish including some little know facts and aspects of the Amish Church and culture.

  • Our Amish Heritage: Silent No More

    Episode 6

    TV-G. Many people who have come out of the Amish struggle with reconciling their past to their new lives on the outside. How should they react to their families who are convinced that they are going to hell because they are no longer part of the Amish church? If their heritage rejects them, is it...